Berkeley Castle- antiphonal

image3

The most amazing document- and to get right up close to it… I didn’t dare turn the pages but they were turned for me….

It’s enormous, the story goes that the Pope (Sixtus IV? Innocent VIII?) gave it to the owner of Berkeley Castle in the 1480s but no one really knows. It’s unclear whether the music has ever been performed and I’ve got to work out what’s going on…. Medieval notation exercises are stored somewhere in the dim recesses of my memory from uni days. I’ll have to do some rootling around!

Once we’ve sorted all the formalities I’m planning on running a separate blog about working on the project.

Leave a Reply

